- Advertisement -

Complete list of 2023 CAF Awards winners

Posted by

The Confederation of Africa Football, or CAF, Awards for 2023 took place in Marrakech, Morocco, on Monday night.

- Advertisement -

Victor Osimhen of Nigeria won Player of the Year, beating out Egypt’s Mohammed Salah and Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi, the full-back.

The Super Eagles star accepted the award for spearheading Napoli’s league title victory the previous season.

- Advertisement -

Asisat Oshoala, a fellow countrywoman of Osimhen, set a record by winning CAF Women’s Player of the Year six times after leading Barcelona to Champions League victory.

At the Marrakech awards ceremony on Monday, the 29-year-old defeated Barbara Banda of Zambia and Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa to keep her title.

- Advertisement -

Chiamaka Nnadozie, Oshoala’s teammate, won the CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year title for the first time ever.

The captain of Paris FC defeated South Africa’s Andile Dlamini and Morocco’s Khadija Er-Rmichi to win the historic award.

Desiree Ellis, the coach of the senior women’s national team of South Africa, is still the recipient of the award she received in 2018 and 2019 and in 2022. Ellis led the team to its first-ever TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations and their second FIFA Women’s World Cup appearance.

Yassine Bounou, the Moroccan hero, defeated Egypt’s Mohamed El-Shenawy and Cameroon’s Andre Onana to win the CAF award for Best African Goalkeeper.

Walid Regragui, the coach of his country’s national team, won the men’s division after leading his squad to a historic World Cup semifinal run in Qatar.

The 48-year-old won the coaching title over Abdelhak Benchika of Algeria and Aliou Cisse of Senegal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *